Feeling Sore After A Workout? What It Means And Remedies For It

Ruth_W
5 min readMar 15, 2021
Feeling sore can hinder one’s ability to do the simplest of things because it is linked to muscle weakness.

I had just bought a celebrity trainer workout DVD and was so excited to workout with it. Even though the exercises were challenging, I struggled through the 20-minute workout session and was proud of myself for completing it. The next day, my whole body was in this terrible pain. I had muscle aches in areas I did not know I had muscles!

For a whole week, I was unable to do my daily activities comfortably and I never trained with that celebrity trainer ever again.

I later realized, I had jumped into an advanced workout despite being inactive for a while. I learnt my lesson.

I was suffering from muscle soreness, otherwise known as DOMS (Delayed onset muscle soreness). Allow me to refer to it as DOMS.

DOMS usually happens 2–3 days after a more intense or longer workout than what your body is used to. It may also occur when someone begins a new exercise program regardless of one’s fitness level. Simply put, DOMS is experienced when the muscle fibers undergo microscopic tears, causing inflammation and soreness. Okay, do not freak out. This is normal, temporary and affects everyone regardless of their fitness level.

What Exercises Trigger Muscle Soreness?

--

--